How to Reset WP Site with Full Control of its Behavior

How to Reset WP Site with Full Control of its Behavior

Deleting a website is sometimes necessary, but it can be a real hassle, especially if you have never done it before. Basically, what this means is that by restoring your WP site, you restore the website to its default settings. The process will delete all of your apps and customizations, so you can start from the beginning, if necessary.

There can be numbers reasons why you might want to reset your website. You might reset your website if you are using a demo site on your computer. Maybe you are working on a new website and have made a mistake and need to start over, or you are working with a client and need to do something new on their site. Whatever the reason, it is useful to know how to do this. If done properly, it is actually quite an easy to understand process. That is why we will show you an easy way of how you can reset your WP site with a plugin.

Let’s get started!

Resetting your site with a plugin

There are different plugins out there that you can use to reset your website. However, with the WP Reset plugin, you can rest assured everything will be properly deleted and restored back to its original settings.

How to get started?

First, you need to go to your WP dashboard, click on Plugins, and click Add New. There, search for the WP Reset plugin and click on Install now and activate it.

Then, go to Tools, click on WP Reset and open the WP Reset dashboard. There will be some instruction that will explain in detail what resetting a page deletes and what files will remain. Basically, the reset setting will delete all of the posts, pages, comments, media entries, users, and WP database tables. However, it will not delete your media files, plugins, themes, settings, and logged-in user accounts. You will also see a new pop-up appear asking you if you really want to proceed with the process, so you do not accidentally press “delete”.

Next, scroll down to the last section title Reset. Before you type in “reset”, you can find the Post-reset actions section. There, you can give the plugin instruction on what to do after the reset is done. For example, you can set the plugin to reactive the current theme (which is usually off by default), you can reactive the WP Reset plugin, and you can reactivate all currently active plugins (these settings are by default turned off).

You can also use this plugin to restore your site’s database. That way your settings are back to default. You can also delete all transient database entries. This can help if you are having issues with your website’s speed and are trying to speed up your site and reduce stress on your servers.

By default, when you enter “delete”, the plugin will not delete themes and plugin files, but will instead deactivate them. To delete them, go to Tools and click WP Reset. There, click the Tools table and you will see two options. There, click on Delete Themes or Delete Plugins. There is also a reset theme option that includes resetting all themes, not just the active one. Again, there is no going back with this option. Once deleted, the themes are gone, unless you create a backup before resetting (which we recommend). After you click on the delete button, you will see the message to confirm this action. If you delete all themes, you will need to install and activate a new theme manually as your site will not work without one. To do this, go to Appearance and click on Themes. Click on Add New and choose which theme you will add.

Also, you can delete all plugins (except the WP Reset, this one will remain active), and you can delete custom tables from your database. You can either empty (or truncate) them, which removes the content, but keeps the structure intact, or you can delete (drop) them, which remove the tables completely from your site’s database.

Lastly, remember that this is permanent. Unless you create a backup of your site before resetting it, you will wipe out all of your current sites. Just in case you might need the site back, we recommend you do the backup before deleting everything. If you want to restore some content, you will need to install and activate the backup plugin you used to create your backups.

WP Reset plugin

This plugin is a very popular option for resetting WP sites. It is often updated so you can be sure it will work with the latest WP developments. Besides just helping you delete all posts, pages, comments, and databases, it also comes with a full WP-CLI support. You can also create database snapshots (useful if you are a developer) and it also has a list of partial reset tools you can use, such as delete uploads, plugins, custom tables, and .htaccess files. Overall, it is a good quality plugins and it is easy to use.

Conclusion

Hopefully this little tutorial helped you to learn more about how to restore your site. As we mentioned in the article, we recommend you create a backup of your site before resetting and deleting it. You never know when, and if, you might need some of the files in the future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *